Sub-page example


The club was founded in 1975 as Llanedeyrn L.F.C. after a local charity match.

In 1981 the name was changed to Cardiff L.F.C., and in 1993 the club linked up with Inter Cardiff F.C. and started playing at the Cardiff Athletic Stadium. In 1997, the connection with Inter Cardiff was terminated and the club changed its name to Cardiff County L.F.C while affiliating with the Cardiff County Council.In 2001 the club began affiliating with Cardiff City, the professional men’s club from the same city.

At the beginning of the 2003 season, however, the club severed its connection with its male counterpart when its members voted against the men’s club’s proposals and its operations became an independent outfit again. Although they were allowed to keep use of the Cardiff City name and kit colours, their crest is very different, and no longer uses the famous moniker ‘Bluebirds’ , incorporating the Welsh red dragon instead.

In 2006 Cardiff City Ladies won the FA Women’s Premier League Southern Division and were promoted to the National Division for the first time. Relegated in the 2007–08 season, the club again were promoted to the National Division in 2010–11.

Because Cardiff City Ladies has won the Welsh Women’s Cup, the club has represented Wales played in the UEFA Women’s Cup.